Recent reviews.

  • 08/26/2014 - 10:25am

    We used An Open Door to adopt an older child from Bulgaria. Our experience was very good. Our case worker, Olga Klatt, was wonderful and worked hard on our behalf. She was very prompt in replying to questions and needs. She made it as easy as possible to complete our dossier, and we had no mistakes, in large part, because she was so thorough. I would highly recommend this agency to other families.

  • 08/22/2014 - 11:46am

    We have gotten our entire family through Heart to Heart. We have had some problems in the past 6 years as you would with any Adoption agency. But they have stuck by us and have gotten us 4 beautiful girls. We worked with Hope and LOVE her!!! She did our home study for our first and second girls and she is now our case worker for the twins we just adopted. She stops and takes the time to listen to us. She cares about us. I just have a really good relationship with her and I am so glad she was with us through all 3 of our Adoption journeys. It has been hard, we found out we could have kids and went through all kinds of hurt and hard ache. But now we are at the end and we have a beautiful family. Thanks to Heart to Heart. The staff is top-notch, professional, and compassionate. Someone was ALWAYS available to answer our questions, and we feel the staff went above and beyond to help us grow our family. We would recommend them to anyone!

  • 08/20/2014 - 7:49pm

    I completed one China adoption through AW and have worked on a professional level with them in the past. I can say that the people who work there love Jesus and care about orphans. They are asked to do a lot and get paid little. The CEO does not and has never received a salary. All of them see their jobs as a ministry. If you are someone who wants prayer and scripture to help you through the difficult process of adoption like I did, AW will deliver and can be counted on for this. My adoption process went smoothly from beginning to the end. The paperwork was laid out clearly and organized well. My family coordinator was prompt with returning calls/emails and was very knowledgeable and friendly. The trip was coordinated well and the guides were professional and efficient.

    All that said they are staffed by humans who do make mistakes. I believe in the heart of AW and it's mission. I trust that they feel called and sustained by God. I also kind of think that they know their own weaknesses and are doing what they feel they can to improve. I know they work hard and long and they make decisions based on real convictions. After reading some of the negative reviews I can also see their perspectives but I guess knowing some of the inner-workings it is easier to support and understand the agency's perspective (and why that perspective is so hard to explain clearly to families sometimes) and give them grace in any mistakes they have made.

    I am proud to be a AW family and hope to complete a second adoption through them sometime in the future.

  • 08/20/2014 - 12:56pm

    We are using Villa Hope to do our homestudy for an out-of-state agency. The social workers have been absolutely the best! However, Anne takes forever to return email and DOESN'T return calls. I had to call 3 or 4 times to get them to start our homestudy and then had to follow up several times after we paid them so that the social worker would come out. I found out later that she was waiting on paperwork from their office! I get the feeling the people in the office don't know what's going on and I have to constantly hound them to make sure they are doing their jobs and haven't forgotten something (particularly the director). For the money it costs to adopt, and given their "credentials", I expect them to do the legwork and keep up with paperwork. They are one of the biggest obstacles to getting our child home and I've had to fill out paperwork twice, because I think they lost some of it. If not for great social workers, this experience would have been a lot worse, but we will definitely consider other options if we do this again. Our out of state agency has been wonderful, but I don't think they can make up for the issues we've had with Villa Hope.

  • 08/15/2014 - 3:12pm

    I feel like we have gotten such personal service from the very beginning. I have also gone on one of their ACT trips to visit orphans and everything was done with total excellence. I couldn't imagine going with any other agency at this point. Everyone has been a pleasure to work with and they have supported us spiritually.

  • 08/15/2014 - 10:56am

    I recently hired AAA partners in adption to perform a home study done for me. Knowing full well they were not certified they accepted anyway. Now it is left up to me to try and fix the issues they have left me. They clearly stated on their website they are hague certified and are not even accredditted. They are committing fraud and I advise any one of their client to run while they can. Melissa clause also refuses to acknowledge thay she is clearly committing fraud by proclaiming on her website that she is certified when the US government clearly does not accept paperwork from her for international clients. FUTURE CLIENTS BE AWARE THAT THIS AGENCY IS GOING TO SCAM YOU OUT OF YOUR MONEY.

  • 08/15/2014 - 8:34am

    please email me @ shellymurphy2013@gmail.com

  • 08/15/2014 - 3:46am

    I cant believe i almost turned here for support. I was just about to pick up the phone and it looks like there is no turning back once you do. I feel so lucky i havent given up my baby to BCS and i am so sorry to all thr birth mothers who did.

  • 08/15/2014 - 3:37am

    If you love your child, look somewhere else!!!! If you are looking to adopt, go to an agency that has respect for the mother. I am pregnant, looking to adopt and so glad for these reviews. I can't believe i almost turned here for support.

  • 08/11/2014 - 10:29am

    If you are considering LMI, RUN!!! They are known for unethical adoptions in Uganda. They use lawyers who have a history of child trafficking. The only case to ever be denied a US visa used Little Miracles. Please look elsewhere as they are corrupt and fraudulent.

  • 08/08/2014 - 2:16pm

    I used Alliance for Children as my out-of-state agency in an adoption. I found them to be extremely inefficient and endlessly frustrating and unprofessional. They don't return emails or phone calls. I cannot recommend them.

  • 08/08/2014 - 6:26am

    We've adopted 7 sweet kiddos from China and have used AWAA every time but one (only because our son was on another's list... but that also gave us something to compare them to). It's good to know, especially during what can be such a roller coaster time, that your agency starts their day praying for you. They know what they're doing, they know how to get it done, they're open and honest, but most of all, they're ethical with all involved.
    I've literally recommended AWAA to hundreds of families, and I'd wholeheartedly recommend them to you!

  • 08/06/2014 - 3:21pm

    AWAA is the best adoption agency anyone could ask for! The staff is caring and very professional in both the American office and the Ethiopian office. The China staff is tops as well! Choose AWAA and you will not be disappointed! We liked AWAA so much, we used them twice - once when we adopted our daughter from China in 2005 and again in 2012 when we adopted our son from Ethiopia. :)

  • 08/06/2014 - 3:18pm

    My husband and i signed on with HFF in may of 2012,we had some set backs and bumps in the road (adoption isnt for the faint of heart). There were a lot of phone calls and emails back and forth,and even had one birth mother change her mind upon being matched. However,we kept going being diligent and we now have a 6 month old baby! All businesses are going to have good and bad reviews...my advise is,map out what you want/expect/need and what you will not tolerate or deem "inappropriate". Set up your interview with them,ask every question you have,listen to what they have to say,and form your OWN opinion and make your OWN decision from there :) Good luck to all who are venturing on this journey.

  • 08/03/2014 - 10:26am

    I felt like I was a lot out of the loop, and didn't like having to wait so close to my due date to look through adoptive families. They were somewhat pleasant, and Donna had told me that I would be able to bring someone from my family to be with me through the last bit of the process. (Which didn't happen.) She dodged my calls and always gave me some lame excuse when I went to Group, or sometimes, she wasn't even there. So being by myself through the process with no one I was close to was heart breaking, I even found it harder to go through the rest of the process following up to the birth of my beautiful baby boy. I just wanted someone I was close to there for me for moral support, and I even asked about it prior to coming all the way to Utah, and was told by Donna herself, that they would do it when it got closer to my due date. After giving birth, I already knew I got 24 Hrs before signing the papers, but in the emotional state I was in, after the 24 hrs, I felt like I was being pestered to sign the papers.

    Granted they did follow through on the basic stuff, good place to stay, activity once a week, and some other stuff in between, I would think they would care more for my emotional state. To be one of the most hear breaking decisions I've ever made, I would not suggest going to Heart to Heart if you are a birth mom if you're looking for emotional support.

  • 07/30/2014 - 7:36am

    They will tell you all about the Interstate Adoption program and that you will be able to a credit on your taxes. But this will only happen if you get a match and the child is placed with you before the end of the year. There are other agencies that work on a "Purchase of Service" contract with states so no money comes out of your pocket. These agencies are working for both you and the foster child(ren) to find forever families.

    I hope you found this information before you gave them any money. Wish we had.

  • 07/27/2014 - 6:49pm

    My husband and I were part of one world's domestic program. We had a failed match last year with the agency.

    Prior to signing, we were told that there was a good chance we could be placed and finalized by the end of 2013. After being matched we paid the fees, only to have the match fall through. We were told by Jessica Niko we would be priority to rematch after this. We were still waiting when they closed June 2014. They filed bankruptcy this month, and we have most likely lost the full program fees we have paid.

    Bankruptcy filing lists them as having $6k in their bank account. With the number of times they had advertised looking for new families this year, I am doubting they were trying to match us. Our match would not have generated more cash for them, as we had paid in full.

    I know I'm too late with this review. There's lots of other incidents through the last year that make me question the ethics of those working for one world, and Susan Manning (also goes by Susan Secor and Susan Vitolo). If you Google Susan Secor, you will find postings of similar stories to one world through other agencies.

  • 07/19/2014 - 9:04pm

    I am a father of three. I had a beautiful little girl but the mother wanted money for drugs. We weren't dating however I was a part of the pregnancy because I wanted to care for my daughter. (I do not use drugs, or have any reason not to have my children.. never anything what so ever with cps or anything, I am simply a responsible father with a home, car, and income) Several days prior to my daughters expected birth I called the mother to ask how she was feeling. She surprisingly informed me that she had given birth the previous night and the child was already out of state with an adoption family. Having other children, and confident I was the father I was devastated. I began to research the laws and found out that this agency had preformed an illegal adoption. Several ways the law was broken was not going to lengths to try and contact the father, I went directly to the adoption agency only to be told to hire a lawyer and that there was nothing else they would say. I went to CPS, and to the courts, I went to multiple attorneys and other resources only to be told that due to the child being out of the state that nobody but that state could do anything. I called CA. the state the child was placed and they told me nothing could be done because in that state jurisdiction lies wherever the birth took place.. Another law that was broke was paying the mother thousands of dollars during the pregnancy. And another was placing the child out of state directly after the birth and ignoring the statutes regarding due process. There has been supreme court rulings made regarding similar circumstances in which a father was denied the right to know there child without any reason and an award upwards of 14 million was awarded. I took a $500 DNA test immediately to prove I was the father and was told the child couldn't be DNA tested prior to establishing paternity. It has been several years and all I have is a pile of photos provided by the birth mother of my daughter "Georgia Shea Bakon" (the child) and a heart that cries endlessly every day. I hope to start a kick-starter campaign to raise funds to bring this matter to court... I cant imagine telling my other children what happened to there sister, and have concerns about being able to be knowledgeable about medical history and so on, as I have a history of a medical condition that may develop in my daughter.. I feel as if my kid was kidnapped and then sold to the highest bidder in some sick game being played by an evil adoption business.

  • 07/17/2014 - 2:35am

    After an unexpected pregnancy the father of my child and I decided it would be in the best interest to place our unborn child for adoption. We made it very clear to Bethany Christian Services on the phone and in our meetings with the lady from the Indianapolis office that we wanted an full open adoption. The family we chose agreed to an open adoption and we even discussed meeting throughout the year, attending sporting events he was particpating in and them sending us videos of him. Our son is almost 13 now and we have had anything but an open adoption, to even say it's a semi-open adoption is even pushing it. We have to call the agency several times before we get any pictures of our son, many times it's months later before we get them and most times they are from the prior school year. We do not recieve updates about how our son is doing either. I have sent the adoptive family our home address, phone number and email address, yet we recieve no updates from them through any means of communication. Bethany had promised us a meeting with our son and adoptive parents, 1x each year for the first 3 years and we as well as the adoptive family signed an agreement stating this. We got to see our son at 15 months old at the agency for about 45 minutes, before we were informed our "time was up". When I called the following year I was told by Bethany that they felt it wasn't a good idea or in the best interest of the child or adoptive family. Despite several attempts to set up this meeting, it as repeatedly denied. Our son is almost 13 now, his biological father and I have been married since I was pregnant with him and he has a younger sister.
    I just hope our son will one day know and understand why we chose adoption for him and not feel like we abandoned. We send Birthday and Chrsitmas Cards every year but I have no clue if he is getting them as we have never got any sort of confirmation that he is.
    I would not recommend Bethany Christian Services to anyone unless they want a closed adoption. If you are looking for an open adoption, it is best to find another agency.

  • 07/17/2014 - 2:33am

    After an unexpected pregnancy the father of my child and I decided it would be in the best interest to place our unborn child for adoption. We made it very clear to Bethany Christian Services on the phone and in our meetings with the lady from the Indianapolis office that we wanted an full open adoption. The family we chose agreed to an open adoption and we even discussed meeting throughout the year, attending sporting events he was particpating in and them sending us videos of him. Our son is almost 13 now and we have had anything but an open adoption, to even say it's a semi-open adoption is even pushing it. We have to call the agency several times before we get any pictures of our son, many times it's months later before we get them and most times they are from the prior school year. We do not recieve updates about how our son is doing either. I have sent the adoptive family our home address, phone number and email address, yet we recieve no updates from them through any means of communication. Bethany had promised us a meeting with our son and adoptive parents, 1x each year for the first 3 years and we as well as the adoptive family signed an agreement stating this. We got to see our son at 15 months old at the agency for about 45 minutes, before we were informed our "time was up". When I called the following year I was told by Bethany that they felt it wasn't a good idea or in the best interest of the child or adoptive family. Despite several attempts to set up this meeting, it as repeatedly denied. Our son is almost 13 now, his biological father and I have been married since I was pregnant with him and he has a younger sister.
    I just hope our son will one day know and understand why we chose adoption for him and not feel like we abandoned. We send Birthday and Chrsitmas Cards every year but I have no clue if he is getting them as we have never got any sort of confirmation that he is.
    I would not recommend Bethany Christian Services to anyone unless they want a closed adoption. If you are looking for an open adoption, it is best to find another agency.