Recent reviews.

  • 10/23/2014 - 12:47am

    I recently placed my baby boy through an open adoption. I'm still working through all of the emotions and trying to process the new normal of my life. I worked with Bethany throughout my entire pregnancy. My pregnancy counselor became a friend to me. I never felt pressured to place my son. I always felt in control of every decision that was made and that was stressed to me time and time again- I was in control of choosing his family, how things would happen at the hospital, what the openness would look like, etc. After I had him, I began to second guess my decision and even majorly changed the plan that I had made. Through it all, Bethany was beside me supporting me in whatever decision I made. Since the placement, my pregnancy counselor has been in contact with me multiple times just to check on me and has even met with me to talk. My only complaint would be preparation for what life will be like after a placement has occurred. The entire process focuses on what will happen and how, but not how you will be afterwards. But I can honestly say I felt respected and loved by the Bethany staff.

  • 10/22/2014 - 6:49pm

    If I had a choice to go back and choose another adoption agency as a birth mother, I would still choose Bethany. I had a great, loving experience with both them as an agency, as well as with the adoptive family they helped me find. I feel SO secure in my choice of open adoption. I get to visit Ansley, and I get regular pics and updates as promised. Bethany helped me so much through a hard time in my life, and for that I am truly thankful. I am so sorry that some others seemed to have bad experiences; However, I hope and pray that potential birth mothers reading this will get some relief reading about my experience. My email address is juliedotson1993@yahoo.com if anyone would like to ask me questions about Bethany or adoption in general.

  • 10/22/2014 - 2:23pm

    We found A Loving Alternative while researching reviews online. Once we spoke with Jim and Cindy over the phone, my husband and I knew they were the ones that were going to help us find our baby. By the last week of March 2014, our Dear Birthmother packet was created, printed and was in process of being mailed out to interested birthmothers. We thought we had enough time to prepare our home. My husband and I were both thinking it wouldn't be any faster than a year before we would find someone who we could connect with. Well, we were both wrong! On May 1, 2014 I received a call from Cindy about a "potential" baby that would be here on June 23rd. We told her we were extremely interested and on May 3rd we found out "It's a GIRL!" and her due date was moved up to May 23rd! I had less than a month to prepare, so I thought! By May 7th we got the call that our baby would be here by May 9th and we needed to get there now.
    We packed our bags and made an all night drive to a state we had never been to before and loved every minute of our experience doing so. Our baby girl was finally here and in our arms! We couldn't have asked for anything more. Cindy and Jim were there every time we had a question. Even if they didn't have an answer for us, they would do what they could to help answer those questions.

    Thank you Cindy and Jim for our beautiful baby!
    We consider A Loving Alternative a part of our "FAMILY"

  • 10/21/2014 - 9:19pm

    They are discriminatory and I am not sure what they motives are. There have been multiple couples rejected from their services due to color, sexual preference, religious preference and even discriminated against because they are serving our country. Expectant mothers go elsewhere. Talk to several agencies before you choose. There are many wonderful families out there to adopt and assist with you and more reputable agencies. I even think they write their own reviews on this website. Google them. They operate off different names and organizations and are very misleading. Beware all.

  • 10/20/2014 - 1:28pm

    with bethany christian services the adoptive parents are amazing and treat me like their family. the people at bethany always had my best at heart. the pregnancy counselor is amazing ive known her since my 6th week of pregnancy.i called her lost and confused and not really not knowing what i wanted to do. i knew i didnt want to abort the baby and knew i couldnt take care of him either. so i opted for adoption. all this negative stuff you guys are saying isnt true. you may have run into a bad segment of bethany. but the one where in live in little rock ar is amazing. they were there at 2am when i went into labor and stayed at the hospital through my c section and waited til i was out and made sure i was ok. i have nothing but high reviews for this place. they made me feel like family and like i wasnt just another number. the pregnancy counselor went far and beyond what she was supposed to do and helped me with alot during my pregnancy. things that you wouldnt think would matter but do. its the little things that count. she answered all my texts when i would text her. she was there when i first saw my baby at 8 weeks pregnant. i know i may get knocked for loving this place so much but if i were to restart my pregnancy right now and be just choosing an adoption agency i would go with them over and over and over again if i could.

  • 10/10/2014 - 6:11am

    We started our adoption journey almost 1 year ago. We had many, many questions. We spoke with Susan quite often (by e-mail and phone) about how things worked. She was always quick to respond to questions and concerns. All this without even having committed to Open Door. We are now at the stage where we are working on our dossier. Susan continues to respond quickly to questions and concerns. Susan has even found answers for us about an orphan hosting program we are involved with. Susan has went above and beyond with helping our family. Thank you Susan and Open Door. I look forward to our continued work together and hopefully soon we will bring our daughter home.

  • 10/08/2014 - 10:59am

    Thank you for your feedback, was there anything specific about your experience that would help if it was changed?

  • 10/07/2014 - 7:58pm

    Frustrating! It's all about the money while offering zero support for the adoptive parents. They prey on desperate couples having just recently charged an excessive premium to couples who want to be placed on the "special list" to receive fall-in-your-lap adoptions. These kind of adoptions actually cost the agency so much less, yet they have found a way to make more off of desperate couples. Just run away!

  • 10/07/2014 - 8:46am

    We used Keane Center to help us with our adoption. We also used an attorney out of State where the birth mother lived. We had a wonderful experience, and I would recommend them to everyone! Chris went above and beyond and was so helpful and kind to us. All of the staff that we encountered, the attorneys, social workers, etc were very professional and knowledgeable about adoption laws. You won't be disappointed with going with Keane Center.

  • 09/29/2014 - 10:14am

    Thank you for your feedback. While your review was posted nearly six years ago, we at Adoptive Families for Children wanted to take a moment to respond and update you and other readers on what's changed over that time.

    In the summer of 2011, Ardith "Ardie" Lee (mentioned in your review) sold Adoptive Families for Children to James J. Bianco, Jr., an attorney in Concord, New Hampshire. Attorney Bianco has been involved with adoptions for over 30 years and has represented hundreds of adoptive parents and birth mothers during that time. Adoptive Families for Children remains a full-service, licensed child placing agency, but is now directed by a new, experienced team of adoption professionals, led by Kristine Pries (Executive Director) and Lisa Bianco (Director of Adoption Services). AFFC works with birth mothers and their families considering adoption, as well as couples and single individuals who wish to become a mom or dad by adopting a child in need of a permanent home.

    For more information, please visit our website at www.adoptivefamiliesforchildren.com -- we'd love to hear from you directly!

  • 09/19/2014 - 10:29pm

    We used Hope for Families to complete our home study. We were referred to them from our attorney who was very competent and helpful as well. Every time I reached out to them they were very prompt in getting me the information I needed. They also drove 6 hours on a Sunday to complete our interview due to a time crunch. I was very pleased with everyone that I ever interacted with from that agency. Dr Brown and his son were awesome too! We also knew another family that utilized them also for placement and the home study and they have had great things to say also.

  • 09/19/2014 - 1:53pm

    The posting from this "grandma" is fraudulent and was involved with adoption fraud. Karen was a potential birthmother’s mom. She was “shopping” her daughters’ pregnancy out to many agencies. As her daughter was receiving monetary support from another agency, she was trying to extort money from 2 other adoption agencies. Because Lifelong and another agency had added up the support her daughter would qualify for she was trying to act like a victim and demanding that they pay her daughter the money EVEN though she was receiving financial help thru another agency, which is a Federal Crime. She was demanding that Lifelong pay her daughter $8,450.00 while her daughter worked with someone else. THE STATES ATTORNEY WAS CONTACTED AND NOTIFIED OF HER ACTIONS.

  • 09/18/2014 - 11:50am

    Bethany Christian Services is a disgrace to the world of adoption.
    When my Mom got pregnant with me in 1987, my grandparents went to them to place me in a Christian adoptive home.
    They treated my mom like dirt. They promised her the moon; they said she would get yearly updates, photographs and information on how I was progressing with my new parents. They told her that when I was 18 she could contact me, and they would put her call through without hesitation.
    They told her my new family wouldn't change my name after she had named me.
    They said that she could stay with me for three days in the hospital after she had signed the papers.
    IT WAS ALL A BUNCH OF LIES.
    After I was born, they immediately sent me to stay with my foster parents before the adoption.
    My mom didn't get the three days with me she was promised. At least not immediately. She got two and a half days a little bit later on, and she got to go to my first doctor's appointment with me.. But after that? Nada!
    I was legally adopted in the spring of 1988 and from that moment on, the strings were cut, and my mom was left with nothing but a broken heart.
    Bethany sent her a 1 year progress update when I was a year old, and they never sent another update ever again.
    They gave her a false name so that she couldn't find me after I was adopted,
    and on my 18th birthday when she called the agency to find me, they told her that I had to give consent before she could contact me and that my consent would be given soon.
    Meanwhile I knew nothing about this and was being told on a daily basis by my adoptive parents that my real mom didn't love me, didn't want me and was not looking for me at all because she didn't care.
    I was "just a product of a one night stand with her millionth midnight squeeze" and I didn't "mean a fig to her".
    This was drummed into my head every day of my life until I reached my 20s; and by then I was good and brainwashed. But I still wanted my Mom. I felt I was being lied to and I couldn't explain why.
    Finally when I was 22 I'd had enough. I had no idea who I was, I was suicidal, struggling with an eating disorder and severe depression, and I knew nothing else about the world except for one thing; I WANTED MY MOM.
    So I did some research, and quite by chance I found a website called IWASADOPTED.COM and THANK GOD for those wonderful people! I was able to put up a want ad for free with my information and a personal message. 2 months later my Mom found me and we've been happily reunited.
    But Bethany Christian Services still left their mark.
    My Mom and I have so much catching up to do, but all of it is marred with pain and agony and memories of what those monsters did to my Mom and to me during the "adoption process".
    I told my best friend a few weeks ago the details of what happened, and what the agency did, working with my adoptive parents to keep me hidden from my Mom.
    and her reaction basically summed it all up in one sentence. "OH my God, honey it's like they kidnapped you!!!!"
    Yeah. They basically did. My mom was forced to sign those papers, and it was like she would be taken to the execution block if she didn't do exactly as she was told by the agency.
    19 years old and terrified, she did as she was instructed.
    Now 26 years later, the pain is still intense; the wounds are STILL bleeding and there's no solace in sight for us any time soon.
    If you are an unwed mother thinking of adoption, whatever you do AVOID BCS like the plague!!!!
    They will treat the adoptive parents like Gods, and you will be treated like dirt. And your baby will seen as nothing more than a dollar sign.
    Please do not give your child up to these people. They will not only ruin you, but they will ruin your child as well.

  • 09/17/2014 - 12:34pm

    We worked with Olga for our adoption of three siblings from Ukraine. Things went so smoothly! Olga and the rest of the staff at An Open Door Adoption Agency were always quick to respond to emails and phone calls, and Olga went above and beyond to make sure we always knew what was going on during the process. They really cared about our adoption like we were part of their family. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to adopt.

  • 09/16/2014 - 9:49am

    I am currently adopting a little girl that turned 2 recently. I have had guardianship of her since she was 2 months old. I was told by an attorney that I must get an adoption study completed through an agency; she recommended Bethany and informed me the study was around $1200. After speaking with Bethany, they sent me a packet that had the total cost of everything, there were several "visits" and "follow ups" that each had a substantial fee. Luckily, I spoke with another attorney that was representing my daughter and she informed me that I absolutely did NOT need a home study through an agency. Because I had guardianship of the child, I could simply do an adoption through guardianship (I live in Michigan, so I don't know if that is an option in other states). It just seems to me that 1. The attorney should have been knowledgeable about this type of guardianship. 2. Bethany is an adoption agency, why didn't they inform me of this option? It would also seem that because I informed them of the situation with the child, they should have been aware of the adoption laws and types in our local area!

    What a rip off! I'm happy to report that on October 20th, our hearing with the birth mom will take place. I did all of it on my own without an attorney or an agency. I saved closed to $7000, if not more.

  • 09/16/2014 - 1:49am

    It’s sad to see that the owner of Abrazo Adoption is still going after any person/couple which has a bad enough experience working with Abrazo, that they take the time out of their day to share their experience/opinions on this website (which was set up for couple to have a place to share their experiences and thoughts about different adoption agents) so that others can come and read them, be them good or bad. I’ve said this before, and I’m happy to say it again…. Elizabeth, it’s not libel for one to share/express their personally opinions on their experiences. Ones opinion is still a protected speech under the First Amendment. The owner of Abrazo seems to love throwing around the libel, in what would only appear to be in the hopes of scaring others from sharing their opinions on their bad experience working with the adoption agents, and to discredit the reviews of those like Wisernow2013.
    I would simply like to point out to anyone reading these reviews on Abrazo. Note that in almost every case where the reviewer has given Abrazo a low rating, the opinions of the reviewers are all very similar in that, once they enrolled that the biggest issue they have is will the Director (Elizabeth) of Abrazo. This should be a huge red flag to really anyone looking at Abrazo.

  • 09/11/2014 - 1:44pm

    As an adoptive mom and adoption professional who has personally dealt with this agency, I can honestly tell you they are unprofessional and just plain awful. Radu is the most rude, arrogant man I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. Communicating with him is next to impossible and he is unknowledgeable about the process. If you are considering international adoption, I implore you to do your research and find another agency to work with.

  • 09/10/2014 - 2:49pm

    Some couples may be drawn to Abrazo because of their short wait time in relation to other agencies. I'll admit it was one of the first things that sparked our interest, but it shouldn't be the reason you look deeper into Abrazo. In my opinion, Abrazo excels in two key areas: supportive families who stick around to help each other, and the education that's provided to all hopeful adoptive parents about open adoption.

    For those considering any agency, try to find a connection to a family who has used that agency to get a first-hand account of that family's experience. Let them tell you the pros and cons, and let that testimony help you determine whether or not the agency is the right fit for you. I would also recommend calling Abrazo and speaking with the staff to see if you click and feel you can build a rapport because receiving an agency's professional support throughout your journey is so important. Not everyone is a fit for Abrazo, and Abrazo isn't the right fit for everyone, but we have been blessed with two beautiful children and two amazing birth families by going through them and though we believe it was God's plan regardless of the agency we used, we are grateful for the expansion of our family and the friends we made along that journey.

  • 09/09/2014 - 9:32am

    Our adoption through Ukraine working with Olga Klatt from Open Door went very smoothly. She was incredibly helpful and knowledgable and gave us great support.

  • 08/26/2014 - 10:25am

    We used An Open Door to adopt an older child from Bulgaria. Our experience was very good. Our case worker, Olga Klatt, was wonderful and worked hard on our behalf. She was very prompt in replying to questions and needs. She made it as easy as possible to complete our dossier, and we had no mistakes, in large part, because she was so thorough. I would highly recommend this agency to other families.