Recent reviews.

  • 09/16/2014 - 9:49am

    I am currently adopting a little girl that turned 2 recently. I have had guardianship of her since she was 2 months old. I was told by an attorney that I must get an adoption study completed through an agency; she recommended Bethany and informed me the study was around $1200. After speaking with Bethany, they sent me a packet that had the total cost of everything, there were several "visits" and "follow ups" that each had a substantial fee. Luckily, I spoke with another attorney that was representing my daughter and she informed me that I absolutely did NOT need a home study through an agency. Because I had guardianship of the child, I could simply do an adoption through guardianship (I live in Michigan, so I don't know if that is an option in other states). It just seems to me that 1. The attorney should have been knowledgeable about this type of guardianship. 2. Bethany is an adoption agency, why didn't they inform me of this option? It would also seem that because I informed them of the situation with the child, they should have been aware of the adoption laws and types in our local area!

    What a rip off! I'm happy to report that on October 20th, our hearing with the birth mom will take place. I did all of it on my own without an attorney or an agency. I saved closed to $7000, if not more.

  • 09/16/2014 - 1:49am

    It’s sad to see that the owner of Abrazo Adoption is still going after any person/couple which has a bad enough experience working with Abrazo, that they take the time out of their day to share their experience/opinions on this website (which was set up for couple to have a place to share their experiences and thoughts about different adoption agents) so that others can come and read them, be them good or bad. I’ve said this before, and I’m happy to say it again…. Elizabeth, it’s not libel for one to share/express their personally opinions on their experiences. Ones opinion is still a protected speech under the First Amendment. The owner of Abrazo seems to love throwing around the libel, in what would only appear to be in the hopes of scaring others from sharing their opinions on their bad experience working with the adoption agents, and to discredit the reviews of those like Wisernow2013.
    I would simply like to point out to anyone reading these reviews on Abrazo. Note that in almost every case where the reviewer has given Abrazo a low rating, the opinions of the reviewers are all very similar in that, once they enrolled that the biggest issue they have is will the Director (Elizabeth) of Abrazo. This should be a huge red flag to really anyone looking at Abrazo.

  • 09/11/2014 - 1:44pm

    As an adoptive mom and adoption professional who has personally dealt with this agency, I can honestly tell you they are unprofessional and just plain awful. Radu is the most rude, arrogant man I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. Communicating with him is next to impossible and he is unknowledgeable about the process. If you are considering international adoption, I implore you to do your research and find another agency to work with.

  • 09/10/2014 - 2:49pm

    Some couples may be drawn to Abrazo because of their short wait time in relation to other agencies. I'll admit it was one of the first things that sparked our interest, but it shouldn't be the reason you look deeper into Abrazo. In my opinion, Abrazo excels in two key areas: supportive families who stick around to help each other, and the education that's provided to all hopeful adoptive parents about open adoption.

    For those considering any agency, try to find a connection to a family who has used that agency to get a first-hand account of that family's experience. Let them tell you the pros and cons, and let that testimony help you determine whether or not the agency is the right fit for you. I would also recommend calling Abrazo and speaking with the staff to see if you click and feel you can build a rapport because receiving an agency's professional support throughout your journey is so important. Not everyone is a fit for Abrazo, and Abrazo isn't the right fit for everyone, but we have been blessed with two beautiful children and two amazing birth families by going through them and though we believe it was God's plan regardless of the agency we used, we are grateful for the expansion of our family and the friends we made along that journey.

  • 09/09/2014 - 9:32am

    Our adoption through Ukraine working with Olga Klatt from Open Door went very smoothly. She was incredibly helpful and knowledgable and gave us great support.

  • 08/26/2014 - 10:25am

    We used An Open Door to adopt an older child from Bulgaria. Our experience was very good. Our case worker, Olga Klatt, was wonderful and worked hard on our behalf. She was very prompt in replying to questions and needs. She made it as easy as possible to complete our dossier, and we had no mistakes, in large part, because she was so thorough. I would highly recommend this agency to other families.

  • 08/22/2014 - 11:46am

    We have gotten our entire family through Heart to Heart. We have had some problems in the past 6 years as you would with any Adoption agency. But they have stuck by us and have gotten us 4 beautiful girls. We worked with Hope and LOVE her!!! She did our home study for our first and second girls and she is now our case worker for the twins we just adopted. She stops and takes the time to listen to us. She cares about us. I just have a really good relationship with her and I am so glad she was with us through all 3 of our Adoption journeys. It has been hard, we found out we could have kids and went through all kinds of hurt and hard ache. But now we are at the end and we have a beautiful family. Thanks to Heart to Heart. The staff is top-notch, professional, and compassionate. Someone was ALWAYS available to answer our questions, and we feel the staff went above and beyond to help us grow our family. We would recommend them to anyone!

  • 08/20/2014 - 7:49pm

    I completed one China adoption through AW and have worked on a professional level with them in the past. I can say that the people who work there love Jesus and care about orphans. They are asked to do a lot and get paid little. The CEO does not and has never received a salary. All of them see their jobs as a ministry. If you are someone who wants prayer and scripture to help you through the difficult process of adoption like I did, AW will deliver and can be counted on for this. My adoption process went smoothly from beginning to the end. The paperwork was laid out clearly and organized well. My family coordinator was prompt with returning calls/emails and was very knowledgeable and friendly. The trip was coordinated well and the guides were professional and efficient.

    All that said they are staffed by humans who do make mistakes. I believe in the heart of AW and it's mission. I trust that they feel called and sustained by God. I also kind of think that they know their own weaknesses and are doing what they feel they can to improve. I know they work hard and long and they make decisions based on real convictions. After reading some of the negative reviews I can also see their perspectives but I guess knowing some of the inner-workings it is easier to support and understand the agency's perspective (and why that perspective is so hard to explain clearly to families sometimes) and give them grace in any mistakes they have made.

    I am proud to be a AW family and hope to complete a second adoption through them sometime in the future.

  • 08/20/2014 - 12:56pm

    We are using Villa Hope to do our homestudy for an out-of-state agency. The social workers have been absolutely the best! However, Anne takes forever to return email and DOESN'T return calls. I had to call 3 or 4 times to get them to start our homestudy and then had to follow up several times after we paid them so that the social worker would come out. I found out later that she was waiting on paperwork from their office! I get the feeling the people in the office don't know what's going on and I have to constantly hound them to make sure they are doing their jobs and haven't forgotten something (particularly the director). For the money it costs to adopt, and given their "credentials", I expect them to do the legwork and keep up with paperwork. They are one of the biggest obstacles to getting our child home and I've had to fill out paperwork twice, because I think they lost some of it. If not for great social workers, this experience would have been a lot worse, but we will definitely consider other options if we do this again. Our out of state agency has been wonderful, but I don't think they can make up for the issues we've had with Villa Hope.

  • 08/15/2014 - 3:12pm

    I feel like we have gotten such personal service from the very beginning. I have also gone on one of their ACT trips to visit orphans and everything was done with total excellence. I couldn't imagine going with any other agency at this point. Everyone has been a pleasure to work with and they have supported us spiritually.

  • 08/15/2014 - 10:56am

    I recently hired AAA partners in adption to perform a home study done for me. Knowing full well they were not certified they accepted anyway. Now it is left up to me to try and fix the issues they have left me. They clearly stated on their website they are hague certified and are not even accredditted. They are committing fraud and I advise any one of their client to run while they can. Melissa clause also refuses to acknowledge thay she is clearly committing fraud by proclaiming on her website that she is certified when the US government clearly does not accept paperwork from her for international clients. FUTURE CLIENTS BE AWARE THAT THIS AGENCY IS GOING TO SCAM YOU OUT OF YOUR MONEY.

  • 08/15/2014 - 8:34am

    please email me @ shellymurphy2013@gmail.com

  • 08/15/2014 - 3:46am

    I cant believe i almost turned here for support. I was just about to pick up the phone and it looks like there is no turning back once you do. I feel so lucky i havent given up my baby to BCS and i am so sorry to all thr birth mothers who did.

  • 08/15/2014 - 3:37am

    If you love your child, look somewhere else!!!! If you are looking to adopt, go to an agency that has respect for the mother. I am pregnant, looking to adopt and so glad for these reviews. I can't believe i almost turned here for support.

  • 08/11/2014 - 10:29am

    If you are considering LMI, RUN!!! They are known for unethical adoptions in Uganda. They use lawyers who have a history of child trafficking. The only case to ever be denied a US visa used Little Miracles. Please look elsewhere as they are corrupt and fraudulent.

  • 08/08/2014 - 2:16pm

    I used Alliance for Children as my out-of-state agency in an adoption. I found them to be extremely inefficient and endlessly frustrating and unprofessional. They don't return emails or phone calls. I cannot recommend them.

  • 08/08/2014 - 6:26am

    We've adopted 7 sweet kiddos from China and have used AWAA every time but one (only because our son was on another's list... but that also gave us something to compare them to). It's good to know, especially during what can be such a roller coaster time, that your agency starts their day praying for you. They know what they're doing, they know how to get it done, they're open and honest, but most of all, they're ethical with all involved.
    I've literally recommended AWAA to hundreds of families, and I'd wholeheartedly recommend them to you!

  • 08/06/2014 - 3:21pm

    AWAA is the best adoption agency anyone could ask for! The staff is caring and very professional in both the American office and the Ethiopian office. The China staff is tops as well! Choose AWAA and you will not be disappointed! We liked AWAA so much, we used them twice - once when we adopted our daughter from China in 2005 and again in 2012 when we adopted our son from Ethiopia. :)

  • 08/06/2014 - 3:18pm

    My husband and i signed on with HFF in may of 2012,we had some set backs and bumps in the road (adoption isnt for the faint of heart). There were a lot of phone calls and emails back and forth,and even had one birth mother change her mind upon being matched. However,we kept going being diligent and we now have a 6 month old baby! All businesses are going to have good and bad reviews...my advise is,map out what you want/expect/need and what you will not tolerate or deem "inappropriate". Set up your interview with them,ask every question you have,listen to what they have to say,and form your OWN opinion and make your OWN decision from there :) Good luck to all who are venturing on this journey.

  • 08/03/2014 - 10:26am

    I felt like I was a lot out of the loop, and didn't like having to wait so close to my due date to look through adoptive families. They were somewhat pleasant, and Donna had told me that I would be able to bring someone from my family to be with me through the last bit of the process. (Which didn't happen.) She dodged my calls and always gave me some lame excuse when I went to Group, or sometimes, she wasn't even there. So being by myself through the process with no one I was close to was heart breaking, I even found it harder to go through the rest of the process following up to the birth of my beautiful baby boy. I just wanted someone I was close to there for me for moral support, and I even asked about it prior to coming all the way to Utah, and was told by Donna herself, that they would do it when it got closer to my due date. After giving birth, I already knew I got 24 Hrs before signing the papers, but in the emotional state I was in, after the 24 hrs, I felt like I was being pestered to sign the papers.

    Granted they did follow through on the basic stuff, good place to stay, activity once a week, and some other stuff in between, I would think they would care more for my emotional state. To be one of the most hear breaking decisions I've ever made, I would not suggest going to Heart to Heart if you are a birth mom if you're looking for emotional support.