Recent reviews.

  • 04/21/2014 - 12:10pm

    This is a franchise operation and really are only interested in making money. They have little regard for birth mothers and virtually none for adoptive parents. When they were asked about all the money they responded 'you are getting a kid so you should be happy with whatever you have to pay and do' and 'if you don't like we will find other parents'

  • 04/17/2014 - 2:11pm

    My husband and I just finished our home study with AO and our experience was great. We are using an out of state agency to help with our placement but we needed an agency here in CO to handle the home study.

    We were very impressed that nobody at AO ever tried to talk us out of using another agency for placement. We were also impressed that for the most part, they were very willing to accept the forms that we had to complete for our placement agency rather than making us complete two sets of forms.

    If you have not yet done a home study, it can feel very invasive. There are questions about sex, money, and everything you've ever done/seen/experienced. We were initially very intimidated by the process and worried that we would not be "good enough" to adopt. However within 1 visit, we felt MUCH better. Our Social Worker, Sarah, did a great job of making us feel really comfortable speaking with her and explaining each part of the process before we were

    There were two reasons that we did not use AO as our placement agency and neither of them is necessarily negative. The first is that there just are not very many relinquishments in CO and we were concerned that our wait would be longer with AO than with a larger agency. The second is that they are more of a "semi-open" agency in that they facilitate all contact between adoptive and birth parents. We really wanted something more open.

    On the way home from signing our home study yesterday, both my husband and I agreed that our experience with them was so positive that we would highly reccomend them to a friend. Also, if we hadn't already invested so much money in our placement agency, we likely would use AO for placement as well and be willing to have a slightly less "open" adoption for the sake of being treated well by our agency.

  • 04/16/2014 - 11:23am

    We'd go weeks or longer before hearing back from this agency. A couple times we'd call and the lady wouldn't even know who we were, and this was months down the road and after we'd completed the homestudy and had been in the waiting process.

  • 04/12/2014 - 10:55pm

    Keep in mind a lot of birth mothers want families that will do at least a yearly visit. If that is what she is requesting and you aren't willing to do that then that could be why you aren't being shown as much. That said, you need to do what is right for your family, just know that it may take a little longer.

  • 04/12/2014 - 10:47pm

    If I may ask....who is the caseworker for both of you? I have a feeling of who it might be....

  • 04/12/2014 - 10:42pm

    6 years? Have you ever had to go "on hold" for any reason? Who is your caseworker?

  • 04/10/2014 - 8:49am

    Ms. Margie is great to work with and the sweetest lady. However, the BH staff are horrible at responding to e-mails, phone calls, and keeping you updated. When we worked with them we would go weeks with no response to e-mails or response to phone calls. It was unacceptable.

  • 04/09/2014 - 10:20pm

    Bethany does not, nor does any other private agency, require adoptive parents to pay money to adopt children who are legally free in the foster care system. If a child is legally free in the foster care system it means that both of the child's parents have had their rights legally terminated by the court system. Bethany is a case management agency and does not make any legal decisions. They can make recommendations, but DHS and the courts have to agree and grant those recommendations. The court system uses the laws that are set forth to make these decisions. There is also the right to appeal once termination happens. The appeals court does not "re-hear" the case, but rather looks at the case to see if the law was followed and if there were any technical violations. Bethany does not steal children any more than a parent who puts their child in foster care gives away their child and then does not work to get their child back in the 22 months that you have stated the child has been in foster care.

  • 04/09/2014 - 3:00pm

    She is a teacher now!! Still horrible to kids. She works at a DODEA school in Belgium. No updates on the lawsuits. I think by fleeing the country they were able to avoid facing the music. She is indeed unstoppable.

  • 04/09/2014 - 7:59am

    So as a military family, I'm very curious to know where she is and what she's doing. Any updates on any of the lawsuits against this unstable woman?

  • 04/01/2014 - 7:12pm

    We recently worked with Caring Adoptions, inc to facilitate our adoption of our twins. We had nothing but great experiences during the entire process. From the first day we met with the staff, we were reassured that all of the feelings we were having were perfectly normal. The staff walked us through the entire process and helped us every step of the way.

    We especially appreciate the education programs that were offered to us by Caring Adoptions. In particular, their Adoption 101 class, walked us through the entire process and what we could expect, both good and potential pitfalls.

    We want to send out a heartfelt THANK YOU to everyone at Caring Adoptions for their support and for helping us to grow our beautiful family.

    www.CaringAdoptions.org

  • 04/01/2014 - 4:18pm

    My daughter tried going thru Lifelong and at first there was terrible communication. I finally contacted the director of the agency and things seemed to move along. Promises were made to my daughter as far as legal representation, living expenses and all sorts of general things you would think a birth mother would be concerned with. Her biggest concern was finding the right family for her baby. After months of reassurance the couple she connected with was all for it and on board, my daughter moved forward and made arrangements in regards to what she was told she could expect from Lifelong and the adoptive couple. Out of the blue, one day, the couple pulled out, after we were assured 24 hours prior that things were still going fine. The agency then went on to blame the couple, the agency that did the home study and everyone else....they even WAITED to call my daughter and finally TELL her that her planned adoption wasn't going to happen. Now she is stuck, no family to adopt the child, no legal representation, no living expenses-nothing. Just excuses from the 'counselor'.

    BIRTH MOTHERS BEWARE, this is a shady agency. All we wanted was a great home for a child. This is NOT the agency that will help find one. Terrible communication, broken promises, bad excuses. It's amazing they are allowed to get away with this.

  • 03/31/2014 - 4:34pm

    Contact me at hayden01@tds.net

  • 03/31/2014 - 4:17pm

    Hey we are considering IFS India program. Would love to talk about your experiences. Please can you share your emai address..

  • 03/28/2014 - 12:51pm

    Very thorough, high quality education. All adoptive parents should have to hear this before submitting a dossier! They care and are available for support at any time.

  • 03/20/2014 - 10:08am

    Let me preface this by saying I have a deep and abiding love and and faith in the LDS Church and it's people. When I was diagnosed and told I would never conceive adoption through LDS FS was the only my husband and I wanted to go. We loved and trusted the church and I deeply wanted to feel like God still had a hand in it and that God was bringing us our baby. At first I did feel like it was the right place for us. We loved our social worker. She really got us and seemed tailor made for our unique family. But then she stopped returning calls promptly if at all. I had to badger every little bit of help out of that office. Adoption is HARD. Harder than anyone can imagine. LDS FS did not make it easier. They gave us an online login for 100s upon 100s of pages of documents and said. Good luck to you. Cancelled appointments ... No help whatsoever. So with working full time and all the other stresses the paperwork wasn't getting done on our own. So a year in the one phone call I got was to inform me they were closing our case because we hadn't done enough. When I asked about a refund for our 1000 deposit they acted like I was out of line. They eventually said it would be sent to me in 2-3 weeks 16 weeks later and multiple unreturned or useless phone calls later I still don't have it. I really don't know what to believe in anymore but I do feel that a church affiliated adoption agency that could be so faith promoting should really do so much more for its members. I wonder how many people have left the church after working with them.

  • 03/15/2014 - 10:59pm

    We are in the process of adopting a child with special needs from Armenia and have been very satisfied with our experience so far. The team at Hopscotch is professional, ethical, personable and always ready to answer questions. They even went above and beyond the call of duty and acted as liaison for a Christmas fundraiser we created for our prospective daughter's orphanage. The in-country team they established in Armenia was equally phenomenal. They were professional, took great care of us, and made sure we felt safe and comfortable. They even served as tour guide between visits to the orphanage. They provided far more than I could have expected. And the translation assistance was helpful beyond communicating with the parties related to the adoption. I was sick while in-country and they helped translate with the pharmacist to get the medicine I needed.

    The whole process while in-country was smooth- like a well-oiled machine. You mostly hear how challenging, laborious, and problemmatic international adoption is but we haven't had that experience with Hopscotch. While there are certainly a lot of tasks and paperwork associated with Int'l adoption, Hopscotch outlines the process and walks you through it in a simplistic manner. While it all took a lot of time and patience, we didn't perceive it as overly challenging.

    We did our due diligence when searching adoption agencies and always came back to Hopscotch. The positive references and reviews are factual. I highly recommend Hopscotch Adoption.

    Kelly, Mike and Liam

  • 03/13/2014 - 11:11am

    Our adoption process with Hands Across The Water is wonderful. They have assisted my husband and I with great care and is very informative when answering questions. They are great with follow-ups and call-backs. We haven't had any hiccups in the process and we are very appreciative of that fact.
    We highly recommend Hands Across The Water in Ann Arbor, MI.

  • 03/13/2014 - 7:33am

    I'm just posting in hopes of encouraging you a little bit. :) This is such a major decision for you, please don't be pressured into anything that you will regret down the road. Get lots of counseling from impartial people, there are many organizations out there depending on where you are located that will help you through this journey of adoption or parenting. If you don't know a place to start, a church and/or crisis pregnancy center is always a good place. My husband and I have two children and plan on adopting two more very soon and I can tell you it truly takes a village :) be sure about your decisions and don't be pressured. As a future adoptive parent that is one of my ultimate fears, I can't bear the thought of a mama bear out there not having made her choice with eyes wide open, I can only imagine it will be hard enough even if you know it is absolutely for the best, but really be sure it is for the best first, and apparently stay away from Bethany, after reading all of these reviews we definitely will be! :)

  • 03/12/2014 - 6:31pm

    We were matched in June 2013 and then with another expectant mom in September. Both were failed matches because the agency did not take care of the BM, the money we sent was unaccounted for. NO receipts, no paperwork, no medical records. This agency has matched expectant mothers to multiple families at the same time. We have lost our savings, and have requested a refund with no response from the agency.

    The Houston Chronicle did a major article on this agency. Please google search for the article and read it. The owner is Simone Swenson she is also working with Jeanna Smith/Adoption Advisors, Stephanie Warren/Caring Adoptions, Patrice Hill/Unique Adoptions and Debbie at Family to Family. We have been in touch with 26 families who have similar experiences with Sans Pareil Center for Children and all of our stories involve at least two of these adoption "professionals".