Recent reviews.

  • 07/31/2014 - 4:45am

    ..I am happy to find this article.!!.
    ..This is really great.!!. I’ll definitely be back for updates..
    ..There are lot's of interesting topics, I loved reading them and I am searching
    for this kind of informative information. Thanks guys most especially to the admins,.."God Bless"..
    .
    .
    .
    buy real youtube views

  • 07/30/2014 - 7:36am

    They will tell you all about the Interstate Adoption program and that you will be able to a credit on your taxes. But this will only happen if you get a match and the child is placed with you before the end of the year. There are other agencies that work on a "Purchase of Service" contract with states so no money comes out of your pocket. These agencies are working for both you and the foster child(ren) to find forever families.

    I hope you found this information before you gave them any money. Wish we had.

  • 07/27/2014 - 6:49pm

    My husband and I were part of one world's domestic program. We had a failed match last year with the agency.

    Prior to signing, we were told that there was a good chance we could be placed and finalized by the end of 2013. After being matched we paid the fees, only to have the match fall through. We were told by Jessica Niko we would be priority to rematch after this. We were still waiting when they closed June 2014. They filed bankruptcy this month, and we have most likely lost the full program fees we have paid.

    Bankruptcy filing lists them as having $6k in their bank account. With the number of times they had advertised looking for new families this year, I am doubting they were trying to match us. Our match would not have generated more cash for them, as we had paid in full.

    I know I'm too late with this review. There's lots of other incidents through the last year that make me question the ethics of those working for one world, and Susan Manning (also goes by Susan Secor and Susan Vitolo). If you Google Susan Secor, you will find postings of similar stories to one world through other agencies.

  • 07/19/2014 - 9:04pm

    I am a father of three. I had a beautiful little girl but the mother wanted money for drugs. We weren't dating however I was a part of the pregnancy because I wanted to care for my daughter. (I do not use drugs, or have any reason not to have my children.. never anything what so ever with cps or anything, I am simply a responsible father with a home, car, and income) Several days prior to my daughters expected birth I called the mother to ask how she was feeling. She surprisingly informed me that she had given birth the previous night and the child was already out of state with an adoption family. Having other children, and confident I was the father I was devastated. I began to research the laws and found out that this agency had preformed an illegal adoption. Several ways the law was broken was not going to lengths to try and contact the father, I went directly to the adoption agency only to be told to hire a lawyer and that there was nothing else they would say. I went to CPS, and to the courts, I went to multiple attorneys and other resources only to be told that due to the child being out of the state that nobody but that state could do anything. I called CA. the state the child was placed and they told me nothing could be done because in that state jurisdiction lies wherever the birth took place.. Another law that was broke was paying the mother thousands of dollars during the pregnancy. And another was placing the child out of state directly after the birth and ignoring the statutes regarding due process. There has been supreme court rulings made regarding similar circumstances in which a father was denied the right to know there child without any reason and an award upwards of 14 million was awarded. I took a $500 DNA test immediately to prove I was the father and was told the child couldn't be DNA tested prior to establishing paternity. It has been several years and all I have is a pile of photos provided by the birth mother of my daughter "Georgia Shea Bakon" (the child) and a heart that cries endlessly every day. I hope to start a kick-starter campaign to raise funds to bring this matter to court... I cant imagine telling my other children what happened to there sister, and have concerns about being able to be knowledgeable about medical history and so on, as I have a history of a medical condition that may develop in my daughter.. I feel as if my kid was kidnapped and then sold to the highest bidder in some sick game being played by an evil adoption business.

  • 07/17/2014 - 2:35am

    After an unexpected pregnancy the father of my child and I decided it would be in the best interest to place our unborn child for adoption. We made it very clear to Bethany Christian Services on the phone and in our meetings with the lady from the Indianapolis office that we wanted an full open adoption. The family we chose agreed to an open adoption and we even discussed meeting throughout the year, attending sporting events he was particpating in and them sending us videos of him. Our son is almost 13 now and we have had anything but an open adoption, to even say it's a semi-open adoption is even pushing it. We have to call the agency several times before we get any pictures of our son, many times it's months later before we get them and most times they are from the prior school year. We do not recieve updates about how our son is doing either. I have sent the adoptive family our home address, phone number and email address, yet we recieve no updates from them through any means of communication. Bethany had promised us a meeting with our son and adoptive parents, 1x each year for the first 3 years and we as well as the adoptive family signed an agreement stating this. We got to see our son at 15 months old at the agency for about 45 minutes, before we were informed our "time was up". When I called the following year I was told by Bethany that they felt it wasn't a good idea or in the best interest of the child or adoptive family. Despite several attempts to set up this meeting, it as repeatedly denied. Our son is almost 13 now, his biological father and I have been married since I was pregnant with him and he has a younger sister.
    I just hope our son will one day know and understand why we chose adoption for him and not feel like we abandoned. We send Birthday and Chrsitmas Cards every year but I have no clue if he is getting them as we have never got any sort of confirmation that he is.
    I would not recommend Bethany Christian Services to anyone unless they want a closed adoption. If you are looking for an open adoption, it is best to find another agency.

  • 07/17/2014 - 2:33am

    After an unexpected pregnancy the father of my child and I decided it would be in the best interest to place our unborn child for adoption. We made it very clear to Bethany Christian Services on the phone and in our meetings with the lady from the Indianapolis office that we wanted an full open adoption. The family we chose agreed to an open adoption and we even discussed meeting throughout the year, attending sporting events he was particpating in and them sending us videos of him. Our son is almost 13 now and we have had anything but an open adoption, to even say it's a semi-open adoption is even pushing it. We have to call the agency several times before we get any pictures of our son, many times it's months later before we get them and most times they are from the prior school year. We do not recieve updates about how our son is doing either. I have sent the adoptive family our home address, phone number and email address, yet we recieve no updates from them through any means of communication. Bethany had promised us a meeting with our son and adoptive parents, 1x each year for the first 3 years and we as well as the adoptive family signed an agreement stating this. We got to see our son at 15 months old at the agency for about 45 minutes, before we were informed our "time was up". When I called the following year I was told by Bethany that they felt it wasn't a good idea or in the best interest of the child or adoptive family. Despite several attempts to set up this meeting, it as repeatedly denied. Our son is almost 13 now, his biological father and I have been married since I was pregnant with him and he has a younger sister.
    I just hope our son will one day know and understand why we chose adoption for him and not feel like we abandoned. We send Birthday and Chrsitmas Cards every year but I have no clue if he is getting them as we have never got any sort of confirmation that he is.
    I would not recommend Bethany Christian Services to anyone unless they want a closed adoption. If you are looking for an open adoption, it is best to find another agency.

  • 07/07/2014 - 10:28pm

    I really have no words to describe Christian Family but some would be that they are not Christian. I was a father of a newborn and I had just lost my job. It was heartbreaking but deciding not to be on public assistance or other things I decided, we decided to give up our child for adoption. I consider myself a Christian; believe in god and the so forth. This agency provides counseling, by your case worker and offers other things. We accepted temporary housing, a weekly hotel. My wife was still pregnant when we accepting these things. When she gave birth we are still dependant on the housing but she began to have second thoughts. We expressed that to them, not saying no, simply saying please give us time. She gave birth on a Tuesday; I called our case worker on a Wednesday from the hospital. She immediately pushed that the adoptive parents come to the hospital; I simply stated she wasn’t ready. We met with her, our counselor, Christine, Thursday afternoon after we brought our baby home that morning. The adoptive parents were downstairs during that meeting at the hotel. Christine informed us we would be out by Friday if we did not sign the adoption papers. Now keep in mind, Christine was also our “counselor” and she knew we had no other options available. There is simply no words to describe a mothers tears but I encouraged my wife to sign the papers because what else could we do. It was 110 outside in Phoenix and the baby couldn’t be in the car for any amount of time. I also signed the paper right under where it says that no one held anything over our head (housing, etc) to force us to sign the paper which is exactly what this agency did. These people are monsters, Christian nothing, if you need help PLEASE find it elsewhere. Please.

  • 07/07/2014 - 10:22am

    Our experience with JOH was similar to what you have gone through. I was in my early 40's and my wife in her late 30's when we applied and chose their Taiwan program (Option 1 - the birth mother gets to choose the adoptive parents). Knowing the availability of children available under this option was less than closed adoption, we went for it anyway thinking because I was an imigrant from Taiwan, which means I understand the language and culture better...etc. We completed all paperwork and all mandatory workshop required by JOH and all fees within a few weeks because we were very serious about it. Since we picked Option 1 program, we had to prepare a photo album which connsisted of 60 pictures about us, our life, our home....basically it is sort of like advertising ourselves to the potential birthmother to pick us as the adoptive parents. Well, this process took 6 months when it sould have taken 6 weeks. The staff assigned to us was supposed to be the "Taiwan program Director" from JOH who had horrible-horrible communication skills (either email or verbal), and not only that her turnaround time was usually 1 week or more. She was never available when we called, but when we email her questions, it would take her at least 1 week to respond. I only had two occasions to speak to her, and realized her English was very choppy with extreme accent which I couldn't understand for the most part. The worse part was that she never responded with more than one sentence. In fact, in most cases she would provided us a yes or no answer in the email. The first batch of photos we submitted (per their recommended criteria), about 85% of them were rejected. We tried to email her and calling her to let us know the reason so we could complete the photo. She only emailed back to us with one word, "inappropriate" without any other explanations. So this process went back and forth for about six months before she finally thought the photos were ready to sent out. We weren't on the official waiting list until at least 10 months after we submited the application. One year after waiting, we were #4 on the list. Two years waiting gone by with Immigration I-600 paperwork update, home study update, and more fees later, we were still #4; meanwhile, we had not received much of the new from the agency whatsoever. The only time this lady every initiate any email and demand an immediate response from us was more FEES. Another 8 months had gone by, but still no news from JOH nor any update (the only thing they emailed us was a link to some adoptive parent website on the monthly basis, but I am sure everyone received the same email too). I finally called them and demand some status update which for some reason it still took some hurdle in getting through. I finally spoke to the "Head of International Programs" (forgot his name) and he simply told me the staff assigned to our case had been lay off (really, but I thought she was the Taiwan Program Director, and yet, no one follow up with our case afterward??) and the Taiwan program had been closed as well. He hesitated to offer me to switch program because I told him that we were officially on the waiting list for over 2 year 8 months long already. However he insisted that if we switch program, it would put us at the very bottom of the list of any program we decide. By that time I was already in my mid 40's (wife was early 40's) which also slimmed our chance and besides, based on JOH's way of communication style that we had experienced - we have lost faith in believing this agency was ever going to help our case so we gave up. The worst part was the guy whom I spoke to last was supposed to call me back and provide me all the necessary steps that I need to switch program, but he never did. I know exactly why he didn't - it is because when a program is closed, all personnel on the official waiting list shall be offered to switch program at no additional cost. He didn't want to do that for us because to him, there is no profit. Plus, if he added us in any other program, it would fill up a spot and reduce maximum allowable capacity for that program.

    We paid a tons of money, time, hope, and our age to this agency, but in the end they've got what they wanted from us and we still have no child.

  • 07/02/2014 - 5:39pm

    What agency did you end up using?

  • 07/01/2014 - 11:01am

    My wife and I were thrilled that this agency had the Taiwan program so we signed up and completed all home studies and workshops that were needed to get the process going (i.e. also a lots of fees and application paid to this agency). The staff assigned to our case was supposed to be the "Taiwan Coordinator Director" from this firm. The problem with this lady was, she did not communicate well over the email (she was in OR and we are in CA). We had so many questions that needed clarification but the only answer she could provide us was either a yes or no. Besides, her respond time for email was at least one week or more. The only time she initiated the email and expect us to repond ASAP was more fees, but when we asked her of our waiting status, she would drag on for at least one week before sending us a one sentence or less email. What this lady provided us was apathy - lack of emotion. When we called, she was never available to answer, but when we actually got a hold of her finally, we realized her English was very choppy with heavy accent in most part I couldn't understand her. We were #4 on the official waiting list for 2 years and it sort of stuck there for another 8 months before we received an email from the International Adoption Coordinator saying this lady was no longer working for JOH (rumor had it that she was fired). We asked "so what happen to our case?" "Oh by the way, Taiwan program that you enrolled had been closed", said the coordinator. "However, since you are already on the waiting list, we can offer you to switch program (different country) but your waiting status would be placed at the very bottom of the list. I will call you in less than a week to let you know what you need to do." 2 weeks went by, the guy never called or emailed; 4 weeks gone by, and again he never called back. In other words, at least 2-3 more years of waiting to what end? (i.e. more money toward the agency). This was the response we got from their staff who called themselves coordinators. Some people had better luck than us with this agency, but my suggestion is try to get someone with good communication skills (verbal and written) before accepting any contract, and also try to find an agency as close to your home town as possible. It is true that you have to turn in the application with fee first before they could assign you a staff, but try to talk to the staff over the phone first. Don't follow our footsteps by blindly allowing JOH to provide us a con-artist while we pour out our time, patience, finance to expect a better outcome.

  • 06/30/2014 - 8:29am

    It is the law that adoption agencies keep records permanently. This agency not only "lost" my daughter's records, but tried to claim we had never used them to begin with. This is ridiculous and easily disproved because I belonged to a parent support group, all using CAS to adopt at the same time. Some of us even traveled together! They refuse to refund the money I paid for my daughter's file.

    If this has happened to me, how many other files are "lost." I could not recommend using their services, if they can't keep track of a file, what else could they have done wrong? Are our adoptions even legal? Can we prove it?

    I paid them thousands of dollars, then they charged $100 for the file they couldn't find, and refuse to refund. I would be very careful before signing any contracts with them.

  • 06/29/2014 - 12:56pm

    In December 2013 after months of stressful fertility treatments, my husband and I suffered our 5th miscarriage and still had no answers as to why. I felt as though I wasn't meant to have children. Once again I was the statistic that didn't have a happy ending. We had always agreed not to go the IVF route and instead start the adoption process. I began researching online almost immediately and found many facilitators which was a new concept to me. I compared the facilitators to big agencies that had hundreds of waiting families and wait times as long as 2-4 years. We had been waiting for our family to be complete for too long as it was. I knew I couldn't handle another long wait. I read through many facilitator's websites, but A Loving Alternative stood out to me. Cindy and Jim's story seemed more personal and I wanted someone who would understand where we were coming from. As I read through this very website and read stories of families who were matched within a couple months, I was in awe. Could that possibly happen to us?! My first conversation with Cindy in January 2014 felt like I had known her for years which put all my fears at ease. I knew we had found who we wanted to work with on our adoption journey. My husband and I began our home study in January and by March started working with Cindy and Jim on our profile. One of my first conversations with Jim he joked that we would have a baby by my husband's birthday on May 1st. It was all very exciting to see our life in words and pictures and to realize this representation would bring the baby meant to be ours into our life. Our profile officially "went live" April 1, 2014.

    We shared our story with all our friends and planned to most likely have a match by the end of the year by the timeline Cindy and Jim estimated. On April 13, 2014, a Sunday morning, my phone rang and I asked my husband to answer it. He yelled to me from the bedroom that it was a number he didn't know and began reciting the number. I recognized the area code immediately and excitedly yelled back "Answer it! It's them!" My stomach sank as I heard his responses..."hold on, let me put you on speaker phone." It was Cindy's voice saying we had a potential match! We nervously scheduled a telephone call with the birth mom for the next day and by Thursday of the same week, Cindy confirmed she loved us and wanted to move forward! So you're reading this thinking ok, so you had a match soon and the birth mom was probably only a few months pregnant...NOT SO! She was due May 12, 2014!! We spent the next month going to visit the birth mom who lived 3 hours from us and texting her almost daily to see how she and baby were doing. We formed a great relationship and decided to keep in close contact after the birth. We even got to go to a doctor's appointment with her and hear the baby's heart beat and see an ultrasound!!

    After being induced on May 19, 2014, our beautiful baby girl Georgia Grace was born on May 20, 2014 at 1:41am weighing 6lbs 14oz and 20 inches long. She was absolutely perfect! I was in the delivery room for the birth and was able to cut the cord. (My husband left the room for pushing time bc he doesn't handle blood well lol) It was an unbelievable experience! It has now been almost 6 weeks since the birth of our baby girl and we couldn't be happier. We are living our dream. It's still hard to believe that only 6 months ago, we thought we may never have a child. Without the help of Cindy and Jim, the life we have right now would still only be a prayer. I truly believe God used Cindy and Jim to help us find the baby he had planned for us. We are finally on the happy side of the statistics!! From start of home study to baby being in our arms was 5 months...you can't put a price on that miracle!!

  • 06/27/2014 - 6:35am

    I chose Catholic Social Services to adopt because they seem to be the only agency not in it for the money that allows single parents to adopt. The homestudy worker is non-judgmental and is willing to work with you to get the homestudy completed as quickly as possible. They don't charge as much as most agencies. It is about $1000.00 for the homestudy and application fee and 10% of the income for the placement fee, which is not paid until after you are matched and the consent period has passed.

    The wait, however, is long for many people. Not many people choose Catholic Social Services because (1) they think you have to be Catholic and (2) they don't bribe or coerce birth parents to place their child for adoption.

    (1) It is called Catholic Social Services but NO ONE has to be Catholic. The birth mother doesn't have to have any religious affiliation and can still receive assistance and counselling. The adopting person just has to be a Christian and have a letter from a pastor; they do not have to be Catholic.

    (2) Though the birth mother is not given a bunch of money; she is offerred financial assistance and counselling and not shoved out of the door after she places the baby for adoption.

    My recommendation is this: if you want a genuine, non corrupt adoption experience (from both sides) choose CSS. For the birth mother, you will receive care and counselling but not a bunch of money. For the prospective adoptive parent, the wait will be long so start early. If you want to adopt a child by 40, appy at 35. If you want to adopt a child by 35, apply at 30.

    I highly recommend this agency even though I am still in the waiting process.

  • 06/26/2014 - 3:49pm

    Maxine has been included in a listing of unethical and corrupt lawyers from several sources, including a Dateline NBC segment on August 28, 2006 and also in the book, “The Stork Market: America's Multi-Billion Dollar Unregulated Adoption Industry” by Mirah Riben. She has been accused of moving birth mothers from California to Iowa in order to represent them, and subsequently leave them stranded after the ‘transaction’ is complete. Due to Iowa’s loose adoption laws, Maxine has very little accountability in how she handles adoption situations.

    In our own experience, Maxine was unprofessional and irresponsible in dealing with us and the birth mom she represented.

    We strongly recommend you stay far away!!

  • 06/26/2014 - 7:50am

    As a Hague Accredited Adoption agency, we take our evaluations of families very seriously. Our utmost concern is always for the well-being of orphaned children. We believe all children deserve a permanent, loving family. When we are ethically obligated to say no to an adoptive family it is not without very careful consideration as our wish is to provide as many children with stable, loving homes as possible. Our caseworkers are trained to assess family suitability, their bandwidth to accommodate an additional child or children into their household, their understanding and ability to provide an orphaned child or children with the additional care and attention that they will need, and their level of understanding of adoption issues. Always the safety and well-being of the child is our top priority. Understandably, if a family is not approved, their disappointment might color their interpretation and perception of the situation.

    While we cannot comment on this specific case, what we can say is that our agency does not contract out directly for safety visits for hosting organizations. Any safety visit done for the purpose of hosting an orphaned child is contracted directly between the hosting organization and a caseworker. Therefore, if this family was in need of a safety visit Open Door would not have been directly involved with services provided.

  • 06/21/2014 - 10:12am

    Is your daughter still looking for an adoptive couple? If so I would be very interested in talking with you.

  • 06/18/2014 - 10:21pm

    Proceed with caution with this company!

  • 06/17/2014 - 3:40pm

    Alliance for Children's Rights is a Human Services charity rated 5 of 5 stars for me and my grandchildren.
    The orginal children's DCFS social worker was absolutely horrible and denied and/or delayed all the kids benefits and did not provide me with the necessary signed placement papers or medi-cal numbers
    I was able to get this eventually myself through calling the foster care hotline and emergency medi-cal worker
    During the transition of taking care of my three grandchildren all very young newborn, 1 and 3 years old I have to day Thank goodness for Alliance For Children Rights They took my newborn grandson Eugene funding denial case and was very polite and diligent on working on his case.

    Thank you Shannon Grube, Esq. and Heidi for protecting Eugene's rights for his federal funding case I/we appreciate all your hard work and professionalism.

    (Loretta)
    Paternal Grandmother
    Caregiver

  • 06/16/2014 - 2:54pm

    Maxine and her horrible off spring Heidi are the most vile people on the planet. Beware of who you are dealing with crazy and mean.

  • 06/14/2014 - 1:00am

    Look for my review on yelp.

    WilliamH
    FleetAdmScrub@hotmail.com